Gary M. Sumers Recreation Center

Student walking in front Sumers Rec Center

The Gary M. Sumers Recreation Center officially opened on Oct. 29, 2016, revitalizing the southwest corner of the Danforth Campus and giving the Washington University community a modern and dynamic space to congregate and engage in recreational pursuits. The state-of- the-art fitness and recreation facilities encourage visitors to develop healthy lifestyles and lifelong habits.

Sumers is an innovative and inclusive facility, outfitted with state-of-the-art equipment that provides and individualized experience. Programming at Sumers Rec promotes and encourages healthy lifestyles, physical fitness, emotional and social well-being, leadership, and athletic performance.

The Sumers Recreation Center is also a place to recharge with furnished relaxation space, massage therapy, and a health promotion suite. With dedicated small group seating and lounge areas, Sumers Rec serves as a magnet for social connections and community gathering on the WashU campus.

Regular Semester Hours

Monday-Thursday
6 a.m.-11 p.m.
Friday
6 a.m.-9 p.m.
Saturday
8 a.m.-9 p.m.
Sunday
9 a.m.-11 p.m.

Modified Fall Hours

FALL BREAK

Saturday, Oct. 12
10:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 13
10:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 14
6:00 a.m.-9:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 15
6:00 a.m.-9:00 p.m.

FALL WILD

Friday, Oct. 25
6:00 a.m.-7:00 p.m.

THANKSGIVING BREAK

Tuesday, Nov. 26
6:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 27
6:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 28
CLOSED
Friday, Nov. 29
10:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 30
10:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 1
10:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.

READING DAYS/FINALS

Weekdays, Dec. 16-23
6:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday, Dec. 14-15
10:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday, Dec. 21-22
10:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m.
Dec. 24-Jan. 1
CLOSED

Front Desk Phone: 314-935-4619
Sumers Rec Center Google Map

Memberships
Lockers & Locker Rooms
Equipment/Towel Lending
Live Facility Counts
Facility Policies

Sumers Spaces