South 40 Fitness Center

students on elipticals

The South 40 Fitness Center is a satellite facility for WashU Rec located conveniently amongst the residential colleges on the second floor of the South 40 Center, just above the Bear’s Den.

S40 Fitness features a full lineup of cardio equipment and a limited offering of strength training equipment (listed below), as well as a stretching area with stability balls and stretch bands.

Anyone with a membership for the Sumers Recreation Center automatically has access to S40 Fitness.

S40 Fitness Phone: 314-935-5023
South 40 Fitness Center Google Map

Regular Hours

The South 40 Fitness Center is closed for the summer and will reopen with regular hours on Monday, Aug. 26.

Monday-Thursday
7:00 a.m.-12:00 a.m.
Friday
7:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Saturday
9:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Sunday
9:00 a.m.-12:00 a.m.

Modified Fall Hours

LABOR DAY WEEKEND

Saturday, Aug. 31
12:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 1
12:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 2
12:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m.

FALL BREAK

Saturday, Oct. 12
CLOSED
Sunday, Oct. 13
CLOSED
Monday, Oct. 14
CLOSED
Tuesday, Oct. 15
3:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m.

FALL WILD

Friday, Oct. 25
7:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.

THANKSGIVING BREAK

Tuesday, Nov. 26
7:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 27
CLOSED
Thursday, Nov. 28
CLOSED
Friday, Nov. 29
CLOSED
Saturday, Nov. 30
CLOSED
Sunday, Dec. 1
3:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m.

READING DAYS/FINALS

Saturday-Sunday, Dec. 14-15
12:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m.
Monday-Tuesday, Dec. 16-17
9:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Dec. 18-Jan. 25
CLOSED

S40 Fitness Equipment Lineup

Cardio Equipment
  • 4 Octane XT One’s
  • 6 Star Trac Treadmills
  • 2 Cybex Arc Trainers
  • 2 Stages Spin Bikes
  • 1 Star Trac Recumbent Bike
  • 1 Octane Lateral X
  • 4 Star Trac Cardio Trainers
Selectorized Machines
  • Free Motion Chest
  • Free Motion Shoulder
  • Free Motion Dual Cable Cross
  • Free Motion Lat
  • Free Motion Row
  • Free Motion Assisted Pull-up and Dip
  • Free Motion Preacher Curl & EZ curl bar
Free Weights
  • Dumbbells starting at 5lbs.-75lbs.
  • Utility Bench
  • 2 Adjustable Benches
  • 2 Power Racks –adjustable J-hooks and safety arms
  • Standard 45lb Barbells
  • Women’s Power Bar (35 lbs.)